The Heart Trilogy


Also Available



The Defiant Heart

Book 2 of the HEART trilogy

A maiden of Ireland enslaved . . .
Seized during a brutal attack on her homeland, Ailinn vows to remain forever defiant against her Norse captors, no matter the future that awaits her — or the handsome Dane with snow-bright hair who suddenly appears in her life.

A shining warrior of the North . . .
When Lyting Atlison encounters the autumn-fire beauty in shackles, he vows to free her. Discovering the fate his kinsmen intend for the maid, he undertakes a private mission in order to join the fleet that will bear her to distant lands.

Now as the Norse host sets sail for the lands of the Rus and the glittering courts of Byzantium, untold perils await . . . as does a journey of passion and discovery . . . and a love no chains can bind.


The prologue and the first five chapters of the newly revised edition are available as a free download in Kathleen Kirkwood Sampler #2 on the Samplers Download Page.


Original mass market paperback edition, Berkley, The Berkley Publishing Group, July 1993.

Nominated for Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award and recipient of the K.I.S.S. Award

"A rich and sumptuous feast of romantic historical adventure . . . I read all night." ─ Bertrice Small, NYT best-selling author of Crown of Destiny

"A wonderful story of grand adventure and enduring love . . . I thoroughly enjoyed it! ─ Anita Mills, best-selling author of Lady of Fire

Click here to read Amazon Reviews


News from the Barony . . .

Spoiler Alerts!